Alumni Athletic Hall Of Honor Inductions

Alumni Athletic Hall Of Honor Inductions

The Westminster Academy Athletic Hall of Honor was established in 2014 to honor the men and women who have made outstanding contributions to the WA Athletic program during our 50-year history. The mighty Lions have been blessed by a distinguished athletic legacy, and we want to recognize and honor some of our exceptional alumni, coaches, and contributors who were instrumental in the success of our athletic program.

Our 8th annual group of inductees represents men and women from three different decades since the inception of Westminster Academy. In addition to the individual awards, we will have our first alumni coach to be inducted and an extraordinary team selected by our alumni selection committee. The alumni selection committee includes WA Alumni Board members, teachers, and coaches.

2020 & 21 inductions to the WA Athletic Hall of Honor:


  • Coach Bill Murton—Football Coach of 1990 State Champion Football Team
  • Coach Larry Burnsworth 1984–1991—Women’s Basketball
  • Coach Jeff Smith 1978–2013—Baseball, Basketball, Football, and Wrestling


  • The 2008 State Champion Track Team—Coached by Paul Bauer, Doria Rickel, Joyce Medina
  • The Dynasty  Cross Country Team from the 80’s Winning States 5 of 6 years—Coached by Michael McPherson

Female Athletes

  • Shawna Vest ’90 Lambert
  • Sarah Freas ’96  Simonsen

Male Athletes

  • Tommy Fagley ’90
  • Sam Freas ’94